When fiction and reality cross paths

Romance. YA. MG. Suspense. Mystery. Thriller. Erotica.

Whatever we write we know it’s fiction. Something that we’ve created in our mind. Well, some co-write with others so it could be multiple minds.

We write about love-heartache or heartbreak. Murder most foul and in some cases outrageous. Of international intrigue. Spies of all kinds might cross our computer screens.

On occasion, no matter the genre, we might even interject humor into our stories.

We might even write about known or unknown persons entering a building or a house, usually for some nefarious purpose.

But no matter what it’s all fiction.

Right.

Wrong.

On Friday, April 29, 2011 at almost exactly 2115:00 hours I was at work when a special alert on my iPhone activated.

Hold on, let me back up a little and explain. I found an app for my iPhone that connects via my Wi-Fi web cam on my computer to my phone. When the beam is broken I get an alert and then can see if and what either Kebi, the wonder collie or Sparkie, the fat cat, are doing. Eating or taking a sip water or a bite of food.

Now to get back on track. When I got the alert I figured one of my boys had broken the beam. Since it was about the time Kebi usually came for water I activated the video feed on my phone. What I saw wasn’t Kebi

or Sparkie.

It was something I never suspected.

A man. An intruder.

Error
This video doesn’t exist

Now, since I live alone and knew no one was authorized to enter my home I knew something was beyond definitely wrong.

To say I was scared would be putting it mildly. I was scared beyond belief, to the point that I couldn’t remember how to call the police. Finally, I got my brain working and talked to the police dispatcher while watching the man rob me. I was able to give them such a perfect description that when they got to my house they had no problem in pinpointing the villain.

Yes, you’re right. I actually my house, my home entered and watched as I was being robbed.

Like I said a second ago, or maybe longer if you’re a slow reader, the man was caught and arrested.

What I saw, witness, albeit via remote viewing and partook in is what we write about. Not what we are suppose to live through. Frequently we hear about terrorist committing acts against civilians somewhere in the world. And tonight as I finish writing this I learned that Osama Bin Laden was killed.

This was real. This happened to me. As much as watching the second plane hit the twin towers and watching as they crumbled.

I’m writing this blog Sunday and am still shook. How long I will live with the fear I don’t know. But, I know I have to move forward. Saturday and Sunday I had to go out. What would I find when I came home. Better still could the intrusion happen when I’m home?

I’ve got guests coming to my blog in the coming months. And my own posts to put up. The final edits and self publishing of Target Identified to get done by June 1. Somehow, don’t ask me how, I’ll get everything done but I don’t know how long it will take to put the event of Friday, April 29 behind me.

Kebi and Sparkie are fine. If you look closely at the video of the invasion you might catch a glimpse of Sparkie watching what the man was doing. Just goes to show how dumb cats can be. Kebi, he was smart, he was hiding.

In short I can’t let this rule me. I’ve got to move forward. Somehow. Some way.

Thanks for listening. Okay, so you were actually reading but thanks anyway.

And may, I pray, what happened to me never happen to any of you.

This entry was posted in Collie, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to When fiction and reality cross paths

  1. Lynn Rush says:

    OH my word this is scary. Jeepers!!!

  2. Seriously, is there not a dress code for burglars nowadays? It’s bad enough that you had to see him on video, but did he have to show you his line of demarcation???

    Okay, enough humor for this humorless event. I am so glad you weren’t at home and your adorable pets made it, too. How very frightening to watch. I’ll bet your heart is stil racing. I would be very interested in hearing more of the story. Was this someone who knew you worked nights?

    I’m glad you’re safe, Lindsay, and you’re right…sometimes life can be scarier than fiction.

    Thanks for sharing. What a great endorsement for that app on your phone!!

    • Lindsay says:

      I know Liz, thieves just don’t have the class they use to. Yes, he knew I work nights and was aware of Kebi. And yes, I’m still scared even to just open the door. Maybe we’ll talk at Crime Bake. And somehow I’m going to try to work this into my WIP. At least the feeling and emotions the home owner goes through

  3. sue says:

    My fiction usually has elements of truth – I grab from different sections of my real life to insert into the fiction

    ok – terrifying – yes – one of the joys of the internet that you were able to see him – which was a good thing as he was caught. Had you not had that app on your all knowing phone you would not have found out til you got home. And in some ways that would have been more frightening. You were violated, no doubt about it

    I have been violated in that way as well. How long to get over it ? Can’t say. But you are strong you’ve changed your locks by now or corrected how he entered the premises by now. You still have your app

    You have a touch of post traumatic stress – it will dissipate as time goes on

    and is something to be incorporated into your writing which will also alleviate the trauma.

    The mere fact that you blog has helped in the first place.

    I’m here should you need me want me or just want to make fun of me – in a humourous vein

  4. Oh, Lindsay, this is truly horrific. I have been spared such an event, but can well imagine your thoughts and fears for your safety, as well as your concern for Kebi and Sparkie.

    I agree with Liz in the guy’s lack of a dress code, and also Sue’s observation that blogging about it helps. Know too, we’re here for you. Hugs.

  5. This is horrible Lindsay. I can’t imagine how frightening that must have been. Thank goodness you weren’t there.

    • Lindsay says:

      And I’m still scared. Scared to leave the house, even though the locks are changed. Scared to be in the house for fear he might come back. Scared to return home for fear of what I might find.

  6. Ciara Knight says:

    OMW, Lindsay. I have chills. I’m so glad you weren’t home!
    I look forward to your release. 🙂

Leave a Reply

