Kari Lee Townsend on Tea Leaves and Reading of Them

Today I’m privileged to have as my guest, best-selling author, Kari Lee Townsend.

Her debut cozy mystery, Tempest in the Tea Leaves, has won critical acclaim from every review including me, who gave the book 5 out of 5 collies.

Today she’ll introduce us to a few of the characters in the book while explaining the process of successfully reading tea leaves.

Sunny’s Process for Reading Tea
Leaves

Hi, my name is Sunshine Meadows, but you can call me Sunny. I am a psychic who runs a fortune-telling business in Divinity, NY. Fortune-telling tools really help me to tap into my
psychic ability and allow me to “see” things more clearly. It’s the interpretation of what I see that sometimes gives me problems. I always figure my readings out, mind you, but they can take a bit to get things straight. Anyway, I thought you all might be wondering how I read the librarian, Amanda Robbins’s, tea leaves in TEMPEST IN THE TEA LEAVES, so here goes.

First, I had the seeker (that’s Amanda) brew the tea. I never use tea bags because loose tea leaves are so much better. The bigger the tea leaf, the better the shape, by the way.
Next, I had Amanda place the loose tea leaves in a tea cup while the water was coming to a boil in the teapot. After the teapot’s whistle blew, I had her pour the water into the tea cup. She stirred the tea with a spoon as it brewed and then set the spoon on a saucer when the tea was ready.

I watched carefully during this process because a skilled seer (that’s me) can interpret signs right from the start of the brewing process. For example, if any tea leaves spill it’s a good sign. Unfortunately for her, no tea spilled. I tried not to think about the doom and
gloom I felt as I had Amanda drink the unstrained tea. I told her to think about exactly what it is she wished to know. When there was only a teaspoon of liquid left, I had her stop.

Then it was time for her reading. I told her to hold the cup in her left hand and swish three times in a counterclockwise motion, then tip the cup upside down on the saucer, allowing
the excess liquid to drain. After all liquid was drained, I had her hand the cup to me. I took the cup and held it with the handle pointing toward her, then studied the pattern of the tea leaves.

Starting at the handle, I worked my way around the cup in a counterclockwise motion from the rim to the bottom. Leaves to the left of the handle represent the past, and leaves to the right of the handle represent the future. Leaves at the top of the cup near the rim
represent the immediate future, while those at the bottom represent the distant future.

Tea leaves provide two sets of patterns. Images that appear in the white space are positive and good, while the images that appear in the tea leaves are negative and bad. Each symbol has a meaning. For those of you who aren’t psychic like me, there are tons of lists of meanings on the Internet. Simply print them off and have fun doing your own interpretations. Poor Amanda. I saw a lot of things, but mostly murder. Once my prediction came true, my life changed forever, and Detective Mitch Stone, aka Grumpy Pants, will never let me forget it.

I hope these tips are useful and you have some fun trying your hand at reading tea leaves. To find out more about my author,

Kari Lee Townsend, go to her website www.karileetownsend.com

and check out her group mystery blog www.mysteriesandmargaritasblogspot.com

Follow her on Twitter at http://twitter.com/karileetownsend
and like her Facebook Author Page at www.facebook.com/karileetownsendAUTHOR

Kari Lee Townsend lives in Central New York with her very understanding husband, her three busy boys, and her oh-so-dramatic daughter, who keep her grounded and make everything she does worthwhile…not to mention provide her with loads of material for her books. Kari is a longtime lover of reading and writing, with a masters in English education, who spends her days trying to figure out whodunit. Funny how no one at home will confess
any more than the characters in her mysteries!

Kari writes fun and exciting stories for any age, set in small towns, with mystical elements
and quirky characters. You can find out more about her on her website

www.karileetownsend.com

and also on
the group mystery blog she cohosts, called Mysteries and Margaritas, at www.mysteriesandmargaritasblogspot.com

 

TEMPEST
IN THE TEA LEAVES: A Fortune Teller Mystery

 

In the fortune telling business there are a lot of pretenders, but Sunshine
Meadows is the real deal—and her predictions can be lethally accurate…

Sunny is a big city psychic who moves to the quaint town of Divinity,
NY to open her fortune-telling business in an ancient Victorian house,
inheriting the strange cat residing within. Sunny gives her first reading to
the frazzled librarian and discovers the woman is going to die. When the woman
flees in terror, Sunny calls the police, only she’s too late. The ruggedly
handsome, hard-nosed detective is a ”non-believer.” He finds the librarian
dead, and Sunny becomes his number one suspect, forcing her to prove her
innocence before the real killer can put an end to the psychic’s future.

 

This entry was posted in Collie, Dakota, Emily Dahill Story, Guest Blogger, Interview, Kari Lee Townsend, Murder, Promotion, Short Story, Suspense. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kari Lee Townsend on Tea Leaves and Reading of Them

  1. Thanks Lindsay. As always, it’s been fun 🙂

  2. Lindsay says:

    Kari,
    You’re welcome. It’s always a pleasure having you here

  3. This was awesome! I have always wondered about reading tea leaves! Now I know 😀

  4. Ciara Knight says:

    This book sounds intriguing. Oh, btw, I have three boys, also. 🙂 Wow, you MUST be busy. I’ve never known what went on with reading tea leaves. Thanks for the sharing this with us. Thanks for having another great guest post, Lindsay.

  5. Thanks Joleene! I had fun researching how to read tea leaves 🙂

  6. Pingback: Lots-O-Links #10 « Amaranthine Night

  7. Sue says:

    Wow I’ve learned something new – very cool, thanks

Leave a Reply

