Fried Pickles and Calico Daniels

Today I’ve got my great friend and Texas neighbor Calico Daniels visiting. She’s talking about her newest release from Astraea Press.

You ever had one? I have. Not really my thing, but then again I am not a big pickle fan. I think it might have something to do with the countless jars of pickles I helped put up as a kid. There are times even now when I smell that twangy brine that my skin crawls. So why in the world would I name a book after them you may ask?

Well, it really all boils down to the fact that while I may not have a taste for them a large number of southern folk do. Even as an adult I am simply amazed at the things we in the south will deep fry. Don’t get me wrong now, my kitchen is the proud owner of not one but three fryers. Hey, we do a lot of fish fry’s during the summer and between the fries, hushpuppies and the fish….well, one just isn’t enough.

When I decided to take a break from writing to really decided what I wanted to be known for the answer seemed so clear.  My best friend has always said “write what you know” so with that in mind I decided what better subject for me to spin yarn about than redneck’s and country folk. And let me tell you, have I got the family to inspire many a scenes J I think they all cringe a bit when I tell them I’m writing a new story.

While many….okay fine, most of the things that I write about I have personal experience with (or a close family member) I don’t want you to think that all country folk and backwoods. We really aren’t J We are simple folk with simple ways and that was the inspiration for my new series Redneck fabulous.

1449509Calico Daniels

Fried Pickles and the Fuzz coming January 2013 to Astraea Press

Blurb: Big Creek might be a stereotypical small town but even they have drama.

Heather loves her little café, and her best customer is the county Sherriff. She’s been waiting months for him to ask her out…maybe she won’t have to wait much longer.

Bronson feels at home in Big Creek even though he hasn’t been the Sherriff for long. Small towns have their perks and a pretty café owner who cooks like an angel certainly doesn’t hurt. Now, if he could only get over his nerves and drum up the gumption to ask her out.

Throw in a gossip mill, a redneck festival and an ill timed attempt to help and you end up with some laughs, some ruffled feathers and a town that is….Redneck Fabulous.

 

This entry was posted in Astraea Press, Calico Daniels, Collie, Dakota, Emily Dahill Story, Guest Blogger, Historical, Ice Queen, Military, Murder, Mystery, Red Queen, Regency, Romance, Suspense. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fried Pickles and Calico Daniels

  1. Lisa Orchard says:

    Great post Calico! I can’t wait to read the book!

  2. jeff7salter says:

    I bet this book is a hoot. Eager to get it into my TBR pile.

  3. Ciara Knight says:

    Yep, Fried pickles are a biggy hear in the south. I can relate to the book. Great post, Calico.

  4. Sounds like a fun book and just the kind of thing I love to read. I’m looking forward to reading this story.

Leave a Reply

